My Goals…

I have received some constructive criticism from a couple of readers whom I know and even my blog partner – Troy about the content of some of my posts.  So, I need some reader feedback to see what you guys want me to write about…

I have a BS/MS in Kinesiology/Physical Education and I am in the process of trying to finish off a second MS in Exercise Science/Clinical Biomechanics.  Over the past five years I have developed quite a passion for the fitness world and currently I am working as a personal trainer.  At this point in time, the fitness industry as well as strength & conditioning is evolving quite a bit.  Gone are the days of doing isolated bodybuilder routines out of Muscle Magazine, and more movement-oriented training is becoming commonplace.  In addition, the fitness/strength & conditioning professionals have been dipping into the rehab world as a means of learning more about posture, muscular balance, musculoskeletal asymmetries, functional anatomy, etc. and utilizing a lot of rehab “tools” (exercises, muscle testing, etc.) to try and fix many of these faults in their athletes or clients.  This not only helps the individuals become better “movers,” but also helps to reduce their risk of injury so that they don’t have to make a visit to the PT.

I find a lot of this stuff so very interesting and I think that it is an asset for coaches to have knowledge of it.  And, that’s what I really want to bring to the readers.  While it’s geeky and technical, I think that it’s information that will help coaches better train their gymnasts.

Let me give you an example of some interesting information….the hamstring muscle group has multiple functions.  Its primary function is to bend (flex) the knee.  One of its secondary jobs is to assist the butt (gluteus maximus) in opening (extension) the hips.  A common issue with athletes who have hamstring strains is that they have dysfunctional glutes.  In other words, the glute muscles are not activating properly to create hip extension.  As a result, the hamstrings have to not only bend the knee (their primary job), but take on another primary job (opening/extending the hips).  So, what happens?  Well, the hammies are overworked and this can cause a pull/strain.  By performing some glute exercises, you might be able to prevent this or at the very least reduce the risk.

It’s information like that…that I want to bring to this blog.  I know that it’s geeky and technical, but I think that it is something of benefit.

I anticipate that my partner (Troy) will contribute more of the coaching/gym drills or technique/psychology types of things, while I plan on contributing more science type of stuff with the intent of providing new information to coaches that they may not have seen before.

Anyway, I think that between Troy and I…we’ll have a good balance of content.

But, please offer some constructive feedback.  Tell us what you want!

Also, if you have something to say…and want to contribute a post…just shoot me or Troy an e-mail with your post.  Our e-mail is located in the “About” section on the right side of the screen.  We want the blog to be interactive so that we all can learn.  So, contributions are welcome.

Thanks,

Chris

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “My Goals…”

  1. Just Another Opinion Says:

    I think this has great potential to be an absolutely invaluable resource for coaches. Keep it up guys.

  2. Jamie Says:

    Hi Chris and Troy,

    I just want to say, what a wonderful blog. Really it’s fantastic. I myself have science, anatomy, physiology etc as my passion. I wouldn’t be as qualified as you so not only does your blog entertain me but it educates me, it clarifies some things for me. I really appreciate your hard work. I have only newly discovered your blog and have yet to read a full post (as I’ve been so busy :-/) but I’m looking forward to doing so and reading future posts from you that will in turn help me in coaching.

    Keep up the amazing work! 🙂

  3. Laurie Says:

    I think you are an amazing coach! Thank you so much for writing, we all need fresh and enduring ideas!


Leave a Reply

